Source book for the inland fishery resources of Africa Vol. 2

Document type: 

The Source Book for the Inland Fishery Resources of Africa (SIFRA) is a compendium, water body-by-water body, country-by-country, of information on inland fisheries and related topics. The overall objective is to promote inland fisheries management and development by providing comprehensive information on Africa's inland fisheries in a uniform format, readily accessible to planners, policy makers and fishery workers. The Source Book, presented in three books, is subdivided into 53 country and associated island files. The countries in Book 2 are: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Nigeria, San Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo. Each country file is subdivided into seven sections: Geography and Climate, Hydrography, Fishery Production, Potential, State of the Fishery, Key Bibliography, Water Bodies Directory and Bibliography. Under the Water Bodies Directory in each country file the water bodies are presented in alphabetical order under four basic categories: Lakes; Rivers, Floodplains and Swamps; Reservoirs; and Coastal Lagoons. Inland water bodies are also divided into national waters, if they are located within one country, and international waters (indicated under the water body name in all country files), if they are located in two or more countries.

Date and language
Date of publication: 
01/01/1990 (All day)
Agris Subject Categories: 
M01 Fisheries and aquaculture - General aspects
M11 Fisheries production
M12 Aquaculture production